2015 News & Events

Recognizing CSD Achievements and Accomplishments

7 May 2015

The research achievements and other accomplishments of CSD staff have received recognition via several awards and honors recently.

Jeff Peischl
Jeff Peischl with the airborne CH4 and CO2 instrument. Photo: M. Dechesne

The University of Colorado CIRES Rendezvous on May 1st recognized three of our colleagues with the 2015 CIRES Outstanding Performance Award. In the category of Science and Engineering, Jeff Peischl was recognized for his work measuring greenhouse gases (CO2, CH4, and N2O) from airborne and ground-based mobile platforms, and for analyses to better understand the sources and implications of those emissions. Tak Yamaguchi received the award in the Science and Engineering category for his work on aerosol-cloud interactions and their impact on climate change. In the category of Service, Ann Weickmann was recognized for her work in developing innovative software and hardware solutions for data acquisition, processing, and control of lidar instrumentation. More detail on their awards is given in the 2015 CIRES Rendezvous Program

The CIRES Innovative Research Program 2015 award recipients include investigators Graham Feingold and Franziska Glassmeier for "Network Theory to Understand Cloud Systems."

One of the most important services performed by CSD scientists for the scientific community is the conscientious reviewing of submitted papers. Amy Butler (Geophysical Research Letters), Owen Cooper (Journal of Geophysical Research), and Jan Kazil (Geophysical Research Letters) received 2014 AGU Editors' Citations for Excellence in Refereeing. They were cited for consistently providing constructive and thoughtful reviews.

CSD's long-range Doppler lidar stationed at the NREL National Wind Technology Center during the Turbine Wake and Inflow Characterization Study (TWICS) in the Spring of 2013. Photos: S. Sandberg, NOAA

CSD scientists coauthored one of the top-ten most read papers in the previous year by the Journal of Atmospheric and Oceanic Technology (announced March 2015). Bob Banta and Yelena Pichugina and their colleagues received the accolade for their paper, "Quantifying Wind Turbine Wake Characteristics from Scanning Remote Sensor Data," M.L. Aitken, R.M. Banta, Y.L. Pichugina, and J.K. Lundquist, Journal of Atmospheric and Oceanic Technology, 31, 765-787, doi:10.1175/JTECH-D-13-00104.1, 2014. This study presents quantitative procedures for determining critical parameters from the long-range Doppler lidar during the Turbine Wake and Inflow Characterization Study (TWICS). The extensive dataset provides experimental data for model validation to improve wind farm wake modeling, and hence turbine layout optimization.

Abigail Koss received the 2015 National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) Fellowship for demonstrating potential to contribute to strengthening the vitality of the U.S. science and engineering enterprise. Her research interests include investigating organic trace gases in the atmosphere with Joost deGouw in the Tropospheric Chemistry research group. This fellowship program recognizes and supports graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based degrees.

Rick Tisinai
CIRES Members' Council chair and CSD representative Rick Tisinai.

Several CSD scientists are recognized for milestones in their years of service with CIRES: Ken Aikin (25), Ranajit Talukdar (25), Cathy Burgdorf Rasco (20), Yelena Pichugina (10), Laurel Watts (10), Ravan Ahmadov (5), Birgit Hassler (5), Anne Perring (5), and Nick Wagner (5).

Rick Tisinai (as Chair and CSD representative) and Anne Perring (as CSD representative) on the CIRES Members' Council provided leadership and support for the very successful 2015 CIRES Rendezvous on May 1st. Several in CSD provided posters and attended the event.

Congratulations to all for these achievements.